Scenarios for the European economy

Profilbild Themis Foresight
Themis Foresight
Dec 19, 2022

What are the scenarios for the European economy? Participants at the Future Lab in Frankfurt discussed this at the end of November.

The growth of the European economy over the past three decades has been based on five main pillars. Cheap energy from Russia, cheap goods from China, cheap liquidity from central banks, cheap security from the U.S. and export of expensive high technologies mainly to Asia. Although varying in scale, none of these conditions will be in place for the next 10-15 years.

In the area of high technologies, Europe is slipping from the top of the world to the second league, geopolitical shifts in the balance of power require a growing commitment to security, deglobalization is increasing the cost of capital, China is competing in the area of high-value industrial plants and products, and in the medium term renewable energies cannot compensate for the loss of cheap fossil energy.

Against this backdrop, Themis Foresight developed five future scenarios of the European economy as part of a major study “Europe’s Economy in a New World Order”, with all scenarios based on achieving the climate-neutral transformation of the economy by 2050 and no global escalation of warlike conflicts between geopolitical power centers.

Our scenarios prove to be a useful basis for companies to examine under which conditions their business models come under pressure in different scenarios and where opportunities open up for securing sustainable business.

We offer to work with companies to look at specific risks and opportunities for their business model and derive recommendations for action.

Project: Impact of the 5 scenarios on your business model

Jan Berger, CEO and project lead of the 10-month research will be happy to introduce you to the topic in a conversation.

Impressions of our discussions about the topic with our network in Berlin and Frankfurt (May – November 2022)


contact@themis-foresight.com | ©  Themis Foresight GmbH

Szenarien für die europäische Wirtschaft

Profilbild Themis Foresight
Themis Foresight
19. Dez 2022

Welche Szenarien für die europäische Wirtschaft gibt es? Teilnehmer des Future Labs in Frankfurt diskutierten das Ende November.

Das Wachstum der europäischen Wirtschaft fußte in den letzten drei Jahrzehnten auf fünf wesentlichen Säulen. Billige Energie aus Russland, billige Waren aus China, billige Liquidität von den Notenbanken, billige Sicherheit aus den USA und Export teurer Hochtechnologien vor allem nach Asien. Obwohl im Ausmaß unterschiedlich, ist keine dieser Voraussetzungen mehr in den nächsten 10 – 15 Jahren gegeben.

Im Bereich der Hochtechnologien rutscht Europa aus der Weltspitze in die zweite Liga, geopolitische Verschiebungen der Machtverhältnisse erfordern ein wachsendes Sicherheitsengagement, Deglobalisierung erhöht die Kapitalkosten, China konkurriert im Bereich hochwertiger Industrieanlagen und -produkte und mittelfristig können erneuerbare Energien nicht den Wegfall billiger fossiler Energie kompensieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickelte Themis Foresight im Rahmen einer großen Studie „Europas Wirtschaft in einer neuen Weltordnung“ fünf Zukunftsszenarien der europäischen Wirtschaft, wobei alle Szenarien zur Grundlage hatten, dass die Erreichung des klimaneutralen Umbaus der Wirtschaft bis 2050 erreicht wird und es zu keiner globalen Eskalation kriegerischer Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den geopolitischen Machtzentren kommt.

Unsere Szenarien erweisen sich für Unternehmen als nützliche Grundlage für eine Prüfung, unter welchen Voraussetzungen ihre Geschäftsmodelle in unterschiedlichen Szenarien unter Druck geraten und wo sich Chancen für eine nachhaltige Geschäftssicherung eröffnen.

Wir bieten an, mit Unternehmen konkrete Risiken und Chancen für ihr Geschäftsmodell zu betrachten und daraus Maßnahmen-Empfehlungen abzuleiten.

Projekt: Auswirkungen der 5 Szenarien auf Ihr Geschäftsmodell

Jan Berger, CEO und Projektleiter der 10-monatigen Forschung stellt Ihnen das Thema gerne in einem Gespräch vor.

Eindrücke unserer Diskussionen zu Thema mit unserem Netzwerk in Berlin und Frankfurt (Mai bis November 2022)


contact@themis-foresight.com | ©  Themis Foresight GmbH